JayJay’s Feelings

The design outcome is a book series which explores four of the eight core emotions: happiness, sadness, anger, and fear.

The purpose for our outcome is to encourage our target audience of parents and children between the ages of 5-7 to have healthy relationships with their emotions.

The objective of our outcome is for these children to, along with their parents, explore, recognise, and understand that they have relationships with their emotions, and that experiencing emotion, both good and bad experiences, is normal and a part of life.

To respond to the issue, our book series and toy will teach children about four core emotions, including joy, sadness, anger, and fear, which are emotions that they can understand. The books also teach the importance of experiencing those core emotions through the struggles of the main character.

By using the toy that is provided, children can have a companion which reminds them of the story and the lessons that come with it. Because parents are a significant part of their children’s development, we strongly encourage them to read our books with their children so that it will be able to enhance their parent-child relationship.





Jacqui Apoefis
Anh Thuy Nguyen
Hing Wan Tam
Shenglong Wang


Interested in taking this project further? Contact Dr Gareth Furber at gareth.furber@gmail.com.